About Us

About Us

The Schoolof of  Mass Communication, Ranchi University, Ranchi was established in 1987. The founder Director of the Department was Prof. (Dr.) B. N. Tripathi. Prior to creation of the State of Jharkhand, in the then undivided State of Bihar, this was the only institution which began the noble work of preparing generations of Journalists in the State. Earlier, teaching was imparted in one-year course of Bachelor of Journalism in Mass Communication (B.J.M.C.) in the Department from 1987-88 to 2011-12 sessions. Two-year course of Master in Arts in Mass Communication (M.A.M.C.) has been running in the Department since 2009-11 sessions. The experienced Journalists from the prestigious Media Institutions have been contributing a lot to the teaching of the subject in the Department. This institution has always been providing encouragement to the students for healthy journalism which adds glory to the Department and the University. The students of this Department undergo Internship in the reputed Electronic and Print media institutions as well as in Government and Private institutions. Several students of this Department have occupied higher positions in many prestigious institutions, not only in the country but also in the foreign countries. Teaching is being imparted in the Department with two contractual teachers, the guest faculties, equipped studio, computer laboratory and media laboratory. All these add to the opportunity for employment of the students. Alumni meet, “SPANDAN”, ‘SILVER JUBILEE’

FUNCTION, The Australian Film Festival, National Education Leadership Award by ET NOW, National Education Leadership Award by Dainik Bhaskar, the 7th Indy’s Award and two National Awarded Short Films made by the students of the Department reflect success, creativity and rich heritage of the Department. The Department always remembers with respect and honor the following Directors and Coordinator who rendered their valuable services in the Department in the past.

List of Ex-Directors

Sl. No. Name Period
1. Prof. (Dr.) B. N. Tripathi 1987 to 30-09-1988
2. Dr. S. D. Singh 01-10-1988 to 31-07-1991
3. Dr. B. N. Singh 01-08-1991 to 12-02-1997
4. Prof. Jagdhari Singh 13-02-1997 to 17-01-1999
5. Prof.(Dr.) Rita Shukla 18-01-1999 to 30-11-2011
6. Prof. Dr. J. P. Singh 20-12-2011 to 30-04-2012
7. Dr. Sushil Kumar 01-05-2012 to 25-04-2013
8. Prof.(Dr.) Sarswati Mishra 26-04-2015 to 25-06-2014
9. Prof. (Dr.) S. M. P. N. Singh Shahi 26-06-2013 to 31-01-2018
10. Prof. (Dr.) Ashok Kumar Choudhary 10-03-2018 to 31-03-2020

List of Ex-Coordinators

Sl. No. Name Period
1. Dr. Pankaj Kumar 10-08-2012 to 26-08-2013